"The league began as a chartered accountant league in the fall of 1982, with only 3 teams being Price Waterhouse, Tuche Ross, and Peat Marwick Michael.  The games were played in Calahoo on Saturday nights, with each team supplying their own referee and time keeper.

 As more and more teams became dissatisfied with the leagues they were in and more and more became interested in playing with us, the venue moved to the North Twin Rinks in Edmonton, just off of 137 Ave.   Eventually, we moved to Argyll Rink in South Edmonton, which has been our home rink for the past 10 plus years. 


Notable teams of the past include Van Dens (with Neil Bronch as the first league President), Hawks, then Blackhawks, Broncos, Flyers, Puck Hogs, Chiefs, and Cook County, Clydes Sharks.


Dean Rempel *who started playing in the Cap city league for Price Water house* started to manage the league in the 90’s. Dean was playing in both the Cap City League and the Elite division of the Alberta Men’s league. Dean brought all the Elite division teams from Alberta men’s  *EPA Blues, Hustlers, Associated pipe line, Bulls (now Gators) BP Brewhawks* to Cap City. Change the name to" Capital City Elite Hockey League".  More recent teams include the Molson Selects, B.A.C., Danglers, Racers, and all teams shown in this site.

 The league has continually evolved over the years, with many Tier I, Tier II, College, Pro, and Semi-Pro players being involved at one time or another, as you can see from the few featured on this page.  It has been for many years, and will continue to be, the premier men's hockey league in the City of Edmonton."

Best Wishes to all involved,

Matt Fitzpatrick, PRESIDENT


Please send any photos for the FAN GALLERY to 

Thank you from all of us at El Fuego, the unofficial fansite!